Reflections

I spent my last few hours in D.C. waiting for my flight home and all I could think about is how blessed I am.

I am so blessed to be able to have this amazing opportunity in D.C. and fortunate to have parents who pushed me to go travel, experience and fun in different places. I learned so much in a short amount of time about how media and politics operate in D.C. (and how Capitol Hill is in its own little world but basically runs the world).

Who can actually say they’ve been on the House floor and went into the cloak room? Who can say they went on a monument tour on a party bus? How many people can say they met Bill Clinton’s Press Secretary Mike McCurry? I mean this list could go on and on.

I’m thankful for my mom who was really the one who pushed me to go study elsewhere for the summer even though I thought it was best for me to stay in Baton Rouge. I wanted to work, pay my bills and save money for the upcoming fall semester. I knew I couldn’t pay for a study abroad trip on my own, save money to live abroad and still find a way to pay for my other bills which is why I didn’t even entertain the idea of studying abroad for even a short four weeks.

But my parents made it so I could save money. They offered to take on some of my bills and help me through the last couple of months of the spring semester so I could save most of my paychecks to pay for a program, live comfortably and sustain myself in a new city or country

I was also blessed to be apart of the brand new study abroad ambassador program at LSU during the spring semester which offered a scholarship for Academic Programs Abroad. I was able to connect with an international student from Iran named Fatemeh and was able to show her around LSU and Baton Rouge. I’m happy to now call be my friend. This scholarship helped tremendously with the burden of the price of studying abroad.

I was originally trying to go to Europe for study abroad but was on the waitlist for awhile and decided to lock in my spot in D.C. and I know now that was only God working in my life. I believe now, I was supposedto be in D.C. this summer so I could reflect on my purpose and choices in mass communication. I’m now aware of how many more options and avenues there are for me.

I also fell in love with the city. Its not to big but it’s big enough and it’s clean for the most part (unlike NYC). I have already began to look for internships in D.C. for next summer. I could see myself moving to D.C. after I graduate undergrad and going to law school.

I didn’t realize until I made it home that I was able to forget about all of my obligations and everything weighing me down. I was really able to take a much needed breather from life back home in and really return to myself, the true me. Spring semester was tough towards the end because I lost my grandmother to cancer about two and a half weeks before finals. So along with the stress from finals in general, I was sad and depressed. I honestly didn’t think I was going to make it through finals and remember thinking the last few weeks felt like a lifetime. So D.C. gave me a mental break and new scenery (even if it was school). For the first time in a while, I’m able to say I feel like myself again.

I think that’s the most important part of this whole experience is that I genuinely enjoyed myself and every day in D.C. 

I’m truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

