Capitol Visit

I’ve been to Washington plenty of times, but this was my first time actually going inside the Capitol.

The first visit was nice but the Capitol was so crowded during that day.  I felt rushed and didn’t feel like I learned a lot. But a couple great things came out of that first visit.

For example, I was able to take the unground tunnel from one of the senate buildings to the Capitol.

 


I was also happy my tour guide made a point to stop at this painting of Shirley Chisholm, the first African-American woman in congress.


Lastly, we were able to meet Representative Garrett Graves who invited us back for a night tour he gives himself.

I didn’t know what to expect for this night tour other than the fact the Capitol was going to be mostly empty which was why I wanted to go.

The Capitol building at night is really a sight to see. I immediately understood why it was made to be the center of D.C.


I didn’t think this night tour was going to be exclusively different than the previous tour but it actually was.

I was able to see and sit on the U.S. House floor. This was the room where President Obama gave his State of the Union addresses. It’s still surreal.

I also went into the House Democratic Cloakroom where members basically go to relax. I was surprised to see a kitchenette. a “cloakroom menu” and a few couches. It just reminded me that although they’re helping run the country, they’re still regular people too.

I also able to experience The Lincoln Room which was named by the Majority Whip, Steve Scalise. It’s crazy to think President Lincoln stood right in that room as a congressman and sat right by the same fireplace I sat by.

Being the political junkie I am, this was probably my favorite experience so far here in D.C.

Leave a Reply

